PDA

View Full Version : Editable Area

indianleo
08-22-2007, 06:51 AM
Hello friends,
How to Lock editable content and how to unlock some editable area

domedia
08-22-2007, 12:58 PM
Go to your DWT fie and remove/create editable areas. It will create chaos, so I wouldn't.

jenpen
06-26-2011, 02:10 AM
You're dead right, I tried it. Lucky I had a back-up.
Never using templates again!

jmichae3
06-26-2011, 04:44 AM
I usually stick with one big editable area.
I use templates, but with caution.
I use the templates to build new pages only, not for site maintainability, because if I make a change to a template such as you are deascriging, or some other change such as moving some stuff around within an editable area, I can't control what that template is going to do to the rest of my pages! I am an engineer, and I want control!

backgrounder: I use an XML-based system I devised to build/maintain my menus and upload my pages. it works for VERY large sites.

- even though dw requests to, I don't allow dw to to update "the rest of my pages" when I change a template. that's asking for trouble and massive re-edits of my work.

- adding and removing editable areas is something I never wanted to experiment with. I have a backup, but my backup isn't pure right now. I don't like experimenting THAT much with my live data. I could do it, but see above: I am NOT going to allow it to update/ruin the rest of my site!

- templates have their usefulness. but I wish I didn't HAVE to use dw's regions. it would be nice if I could use a straight HTML file. in fact, I may just put this as a feature request for dreamweaver. non-dw-markedup templates.

(https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/mmform/index.cfm?name=wishform)

DWcourse
06-26-2011, 05:07 AM
I'm really curious about what you mean by this:

templates have their usefulness. but I wish I didn't HAVE to use dw's regions. it would be nice if I could use a straight HTML file.

DWcourse
06-26-2011, 05:08 AM