PDA

View Full Version : What does a Website Design / SEO Business look Like?

malhyp
08-09-2007, 01:45 AM
HI to all,

I am a website designer and partime seo / sem in Australia.

Currently I am working from home and thinking of moving into an office soon.

I was just wondering if anyone can give me feedback on where you work from.

Do you work from home?
Do you work from an office?
Advantage / dissadvanges from one or the other.

If business seems to be going well from home should I spend the extra $ to move into an office and hopefuly improve on the business image.

Also I have hnever been into website designers or seo office, what's there? Chairs, Desk & Computers, or is it set up like a retail store?

Do your customers come to visit you? or do you visit them?

Any comments or feedback is greatly appreciated.

Mal

Mark_W
08-09-2007, 02:07 AM
This is me speaking as someone who has an interest in business, as I neither work from home or work from an office.

Do your customers come to visit you? or do you visit them?This is the prime question you need to ask yourself before you consider moving into an office.

If you are visiting your customers then there is less of a reason to consider moving into an office as your clients are not going to be seeing what type of an environment you live in.

If your clients are visiting you then that is when you need to start thinking about considering renting office space, as it will look more professional to you.

Advantages of working at home

It is cheaper working from home than from an office as you do not need to pay for the office space.
In all it is cheaper to work from home as you are lowering your fixed costs and variable costs, thus creating lower profit margins thus less units of SEO or web designs needing to be sold to break even.
Advantages of working from an office