PDA

View Full Version : need help with gif bacground and creating links

urbaneve
07-30-2007, 04:32 PM
okay -- i am really new to dreamweaver, i have used flash in the past, buy anyhoo---

heres the thing

i have a full page created in photoshop, i want to use that as the background centered and then just use dreamweaver to add the links and contact box and such. is there a way to this or do i need to break everything down into tables and such?

i hope i have explained it okay for everyone to understand.

Mark_W
07-30-2007, 04:37 PM
Don't use tables, use divs and css.

Jittor
07-30-2007, 06:43 PM
Mark is right. You need to use CSS and divs. This will allow you to do so much more than tables. If you slice out your header, a peice/or all of the center, and your footer you can then use CSS and divs to put it together. If you used tables you would have to slice out everywhere you would want to add text and so on...it's a pain really.

DWC has some tuts on CSS, I don't think any cover learning CSS for the first time, but I could be wrong. Anyways they will explain a little more on CSS if your not familiar with it.

kate
07-30-2007, 07:52 PM
Just an example,

I am just learning CSS but went to se what i could find so..

.bckgrn {
background-image: url(/search-results.jpg);
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-position: right top;
}

From Murray *ace* Adobe Community Expert and Guru. Name your image where bckgrn is I suppose or not.

Is where the image is hosted so you need the url.

Make that center for your needs.

Try it!

:mrgreen:

Jittor
07-30-2007, 09:03 PM
here is a great starting point on learning CSS (and other codes):

http://www.w3schools.com/css/default.asp

urbaneve
07-30-2007, 11:09 PM
thanks guys -- this has been much help. the css site helps too

domedia
07-31-2007, 01:01 AM
Just an example,

I am just learning CSS but went to se what i could find so..

.bckgrn {
background-repeat: no-repeat;
}