PDA

View Full Version : How hard to make this website ?

soulgolem
07-09-2007, 12:27 PM
Hi, I hope I don't stress people with my status, but I'm a complete newbie with desire to learn. I just figured out we have Dreamweaver at school in the Mac studio, adobe version if I recall correctly and I wanted to make a band website with it, but couldn't understand where to start.

So first, since I don't want to hire anybody to do it for me, I would like to know how hard it would be to make a website like this one : http://franzferdinand.co.uk/

In my logic, the first step would be to create a background image with the menu drawn in it then add buttons to them to navigate. I would then add the content boxes with scroll bars using the draw div function.

My second question, how do I go about learning this software ? Are courses given somewhere ?

Thanks, Francis.

LoveLeather
07-09-2007, 12:46 PM
I too am a novice, but have spent loads of hours working with DW2004, and there lies the hard work.

Once you have a good understanding of the program, builing a site is actualy very easy, it just requires a good eye for detail and content.

minpot
07-09-2007, 02:09 PM
Its not easy, it hard work first to understand Dreamweaver, then how to use the tools . . . . . its tricky tricky . . . . . the smallest detail and you dont get what you want . . . . . tags, spaces, lines, backgrounds/ The slightest little thing can make you go crazy trying to find out what is wrong that does not allow you continue with your design . . . . . . . its not easy . . .. well there might be more savy ones out there,but for me has not been . . .after a non stop intensity of 4 and so months I'm beggining to put a site together, not so easy yet but kind and doing what i want. Although I continue to study and researching and going to forum like this to try to be better at it.
There are tutorials out there, there must be courses in your college or nearby institutes, community colleges, or even online . . . . .