PDA

View Full Version : MySQL Database connection failure

Dobelina
06-29-2007, 10:04 AM
Hi,

I am a total beginner and just trying to put together dynamic pages for the first time. My problem is that I cannot get access to MySQL databases from DW8.

I have set up an Apache test server on my Windows XP machine running MySQL, and created a database. I can see it all working fine in MySQL Administrator.

I have declared the test server in DW8 which is accepted, but when I want to access the MySQL databases on that server (the "select database" step in "Create a Connection"), I get this message:

HTTP Error Code 404 File Not Found. Here are possible reasons for the problem:
1) There is no testing server running on the server machine.
2. The testing server specified for this site does not map to the http://localhost/_mmServer Scrips/MMHTTPDB.php URL. Verify that the URL maps to the root of the site.

I know the server is running, but I don't understand the second suggestion. Can anyone help?

Cheers,
Dobelina

davidj
06-30-2007, 08:26 AM
ok
this has caused me more headaches than most

In your directory (local) when setting up your dynamic site dreamweaver will create a hidden dir and files called mmServerScripts

copy that dir and included files to your live dir.. then try and reconnect

Dobelina
06-30-2007, 11:42 PM
Dear David,

Thanks for looking into this and for your suggestion. On my connection request DW creates the _mmServerScripts dir in the local server root dir and the site root dir. I have copied the _mmServerScripts dir to the \bin and \data directories of the server root, and even started a whole new testsite with the root in the same directory as the server root. I can't see how there can be any pathway confusion left!

However, none of this changes one iota. Same error message at same point.