PDA

View Full Version : Layers in Tables (Newbie question)

Coolbreeze
06-25-2007, 10:31 PM
im a total novice so apologies for the very basic nature of this question; ive searched the archives and read up a few books and cant find the answer im looking for - maybe i dont know how to ask?

Im building a webpage which is 1024 x 768. Each page is essentially a jpeg image within which i want to nest a flash gallery or quicktime. Each page is a table, 1 column 1 row, with the jpeg image inserted into it, and the table is center aligned on the page so its always centered regardless of what size the screen is.
Ive then created a layer, lined it up over the table where i want it and inserted my flash gallery. The problem being that if i resize the window i cant get the layer to remain in the same position relevent to the table - the table moves as the browser is enlarged but the layer stays put. Does that make sense?
Now im a photoshop guy so thats how im used to thinking (layers etc) - i know dreamweaver layers arent the same but i cant for the life of me figure out how to sort this problem out:( I havent a clue about code so please dont point me in that direction!
Id greatly appreciate any help you guys could give me.

domedia
06-26-2007, 01:50 PM
You are most likely absolutely positioning your layer. Which means it will never be center unless it's inside an element that is position: relative.

Coolbreeze
06-26-2007, 09:56 PM
ok...so how do i change absolute positioning?

domedia
06-26-2007, 10:12 PM
The absolute positioning should be right in there in your properties panel, no?

Coolbreeze
06-26-2007, 10:20 PM
i see an align menu button (currently ticked at default) when i select the flash file, but thats not there when i select the layer - is this what you're talking about?

Coolbreeze
06-26-2007, 10:54 PM