PDA

View Full Version : Pictobrowser - Dreamweaver question


mvillos
06-14-2007, 05:48 PM
I am trying to include the new pictobrowser into my site, and haven't had any success or knowledge how to do so.

If you've never heard of pictobrowser, it's a new flash widget (i think) that allows you to view your photos from Flickr in a slideshow form. It provides you with the code to paste into your site or blog. (www.pictobrowser.com (http://www.pictobrowser.com))

Currently, I use frames for my site. I intend to leave the design the same, but not use frames and just use a regular html page for the work. Do I need to make a "cell" or "table" and insert the code in there? I have the menu set up fine, but can't figure out how to add the code the pictobrowser provides.
My site is www.mvillos.com (http://www.mvillos.com)

I'm a little clueless when it comes to HTML.

Thanks for any help, and if not, thanks for reading...

domedia
06-14-2007, 06:56 PM
What is the code picto gave you? Can you paste it in here? Pictobrowser sounds kinda neat.

Awesome illustrations btw.

mvillos
06-14-2007, 07:38 PM
here is what they give you:

<object width="500" height="580" align="middle"><param name="FlashVars" VALUE="ids=72157600343953325&names=portfolio <A href="mailto:2007&userName=michaelvillegas&userId=8799630@N08&titles=on&source=sets"></param><param">2007&userName=michaelvillegas&userId=8799630@N08&titles=on&source=sets"></param><param name="PictoBrowser" value="<A href="http://www.db798.com/pictobrowser.swf"></param><param">http://www.db798.com/pictobrowser.swf"></param><param name="scale" value="noscale"></param><param name="bgcolor" value="#ffffff"></param><embed src="http://www.db798.com/pictobrowser.swf" FlashVars="ids=72157600343953325&names=portfolio 2007&userName=michaelvillegas&userId=8799630@N08&titles=on&source=sets" loop="false" quality="best" scale="noscale" bgcolor="#ffffff" width="500" height="580" name="PictoBrowser" align="middle"></embed></object>

thanks about the illos...

domedia
06-14-2007, 08:13 PM
Don't need anything special for that. Just paste it right in.

mvillos
06-14-2007, 08:19 PM
I've set up a new page where i have the menu on the left with links to other pages. i'd like to have the images on the right that way it is on my site...where would i paste it?

i'm at work now, but i could email you the HTML of the new page i created later tonight?

Thanks for all of your help. I'm an artist trying to learn HTML and dreamweaver on the fly...

domedia
06-14-2007, 08:37 PM
Use dreamweaver to insert a layers, then paste the code into that layre and you can use the layer to position this block wherever you want.

mvillos
06-14-2007, 10:40 PM
Thank you, domedia, for your help and patience. It worked!

domedia
06-14-2007, 11:02 PM
Ah Good :)

Paws
06-15-2007, 07:27 PM
I am trying to include the new pictobrowser into my site, and haven't had any success or knowledge how to do so.

Here is a solution that you can use:
<!--- THIS IS FOR THE BIG PICTURE --->
<img src="images/pic1.jpg" align="middle" border="0" width="300" height="225" name="large">
<p>
<!--- THESE 3 BLOCKS ARE FOR THE THUMBNAILS ---->
<a href="javascript:image_click(0)">
<img src= width="150" height="110" name="pimage0" border=0></a>

<a href="javascript:image_click(1)">
<img src= width="150" height="110" name="pimage1" border=0></a>

<a href="javascript:image_click(2)">
<img src= width="150" height="110" name="pimage2" border=0></a>

<!---- THESE BLOCKS OF CODE CONTROL HOW THE IMAGES ARE DISPLAYED-->
<script language="JavaScript"><!--
//thumbnail
image0 =new Image();
image1 =new Image();
image2 =new Image();

// Define the source of the displayed images
image0.src ="images/image1.jpg"
image1.src ="images/image2.jpg"
image2.src ="images/image3.jpg"

// Define the source of the preview image
document.images['pimage0'].src=image0.src;
document.images['pimage1'].src=image1.src;
document.images['pimage2'].src=image2.src;

// This defines what to do when an image is clicked on
function image_click(clicks)
{
if(clicks==0){document.images['large'].src=image0.src;}
if(clicks==1){document.images['large'].src=image1.src;}
if(clicks==2){document.images['large'].src=image2.src;}
}
// -->
</script>
You can make it dynamic if needed, very adaptable code.
Cheers