PDA

View Full Version : Dreamweaver + Databases

jendy
06-11-2007, 12:11 AM
Hello Everyone,

I am a graphic designer who recently taught myself Dreamweaver. I'm designing a website for a magazine who wants a survey on their site. I created the survey in Dreamweaver using radio buttons and checkboxes, but I don't know how to get the survey results into a database. I've been reading about mySQL, but not sure if I need to go that route. Does anyone out there know the easiest way to get the answers into a format that I can easily access?

Also can anyone recommend a useful and simple book which covers my dilemma.

Thanks!;-)

Karkar
06-11-2007, 02:51 AM
There are some very helpful tutorials on this site that cover the basics of php and mysql... I don' thiink they cover exactly what you want to do, but it's a good way to understand databasing and scripting a lot more.

davidj
06-11-2007, 07:12 AM
Hi Jendy Welcome to the forum

//////////////

I feel for you..

as a professional graphic designer you have had to diversify into web - technologies (kicking and screaming no doubt) As a designer you are expected to offer a web design service and part of that service has to include scripted products like eshops and web 2.0 solutions. A couple of years ago a design house could knock-up a poster on Monday and send out an invoice on Tuesday. Until recently a designer could even get away with throwing together a 5 page static web site and because of their skills with a paintbrush could mask the mess behind the scenes. Yesterday your market was designing business cards, menus, billboard posters and today they are building commerce solutions with SAP API's using SOAP.