PDA

View Full Version : Asking, easy way to change website host?


martin scobie
05-27-2007, 01:07 PM
Hello all at the club.
I have to change my web site host, as spammers have hijacked it . Is there an easy way to move all the pages, saveing all the links etc, so avoiding a complete rebuild. Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.
Martin.

domedia
05-27-2007, 03:37 PM
1. FTP to your hosting space and download all files
2. FTP all files to your new hosting space.
3. Get information from new webhost which nameservers to use
4. Log into your domain registrar and change the nameservers for your domain.
5. Wait 6-48 hours for the dns info to propagate and your website will be served by new webhost.

kate
05-27-2007, 03:40 PM
Hello all at the club.
I have to change my web site host, as spammers have hijacked it . Is there an easy way to move all the pages, saveing all the links etc, so avoiding a complete rebuild. Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.
Martin.

Some hosts will move sites for you if they are not so big - just ask.

:mrgreen:

martin scobie
05-29-2007, 08:10 AM
Many thanks to domedia and kate, it should be a lot easyer than I imagined. I have another question, is it possible to host 2 or more websites on same host? Can there only be one "index.htm "
Thanks again.
Martin.

domedia
05-29-2007, 03:24 PM
A host will easily give you a package where you can host several websites, each with their own account.

kate
06-03-2007, 07:48 PM
Can there only be one "index.htm


I think so but I have not built any yet. What would be ok is index.htm/html
HTH

projectioninst
06-03-2007, 08:29 PM
Having both an index.htm and an index.html is asking for trouble. Usually your site visitors don't actually type in the index.html part of the URL, so asking the browser/host to choose which one is correct would be troublesome, if it works at all. You can host two sites at one domain by simply placing them in their own root folder though. For example www.host.com/site1/index.html and www.host.com/site2/index.html would work just fine.

kate
06-04-2007, 10:18 AM
Having both an index.htm and an index.html is asking for trouble. Usually your site visitors don't actually type in the index.html part of the URL, so asking the browser/host to choose which one is correct would be troublesome, if it works at all. You can host two sites at one domain by simply placing them in their own root folder though. For example www.host.com/site1/index.html (http://www.host.com/site1/index.html) and www.host.com/site2/index.html (http://www.host.com/site2/index.html) would work just fine.

I asked at one of my fav newsgroups and so far its a positive yes but I want to wait till there are more replies if any. I just do not see a problem. I have a single page site which is mainly links to my Wordpress sites, Its also to stop people seeing whats at my host for that dirctory so the purpose is two fold.

Now in time I will build a site with at least 6 pages for Bichon Frisť dogs which will be named index.htm where my other is named index.html I don't see the confusion. Either public will call for the dogs, or they will call for my WP.

:mrgreen:

chriskq
06-04-2007, 12:41 PM
Its also to stop people seeing whats at my host for that dirctory

directory browsing should be turned off by ur hoster... Definatly good not to have ditrctory listing on a public domain.

Also do u kno how hackers hijacked ur old site?

kate
06-04-2007, 03:32 PM
Also do u kno how hackers hijacked ur old site?

Never been hacked Chris. I don't have any sites at the moment by choice, my WP is a free blog from wp.org all have to do is fill it up..:mrgreen: They do the rest, I don't ebven need to upgrade its all done for me.

At my host we have four options for the directories.

Default System Setting
No Indexes
Standard Indexing (text only)
Fancy Indexing (graphics and text)
On advice I decided to have an index in every dorectory instead which works great in my situation.

Now I heard from some other people and yes you can have two but here is what would happen:

Message1:


If I understand your question correctly, ("can you have both 'index.htm'
and 'index.html' on the same server?") then yes, you can. If they are
supposed to represent the same site, however, the URL will only default
to one of them.

If you're just asking if you can have "path/to/somedirectory/index.htm"
for one site/subdomain/directory/client site/etc. and
"path/to/differentdirectory/index.html" for another
site/directory/subdomain/development location/etc. then there shouldn't*
be a problem.

*The only time there would be a problem is if the server is set up not
to accept the .htm extension, but I'm not a server person - you'd need
to talk to someone who knows their Apache from their elbow to find out
if that's still ever an issue.

The only reason we ever used .htm in the first place is that there was a
time when extensions were limited 8 bytes/3 positions (2x2x2=8) to save
space. Space no longer being at a premium at that level, doubling the
amount available for the extension wasn't a sacrifice any more, so we're
now allowed 4 positions (.html), but the .htm extension is still also
permitted for "legacy" purposes.



Message2:

Either should work. The server looks for both and acts on which ever one it
finds. Just don't have both at the same time, that is, don't have both an
index.htm and an index.html.

Back when Windows only understood three letter file extensions, .htm was
required for Windows servers. It no longer matters. Windows can deal with
.html or .jpeg rather than .jpg with no problem.

Message3:

not quite. In the case of Apache you specify the order of extensions for a
default document. So if you have specified a list like so:

DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php

then if you ask for a directory without specifying a filename, e.g.

www.mydomain.com/mydirectory/ (http://www.mydomain.com/mydirectory/)

it will first look for a page called index.html in that directory. If it
finds it, it will return it, otherwise it will look for index.htm and so
on down the list.

> Just don't have both at the same time, that is, don't have both an
> index.htm and an index.html.

Nothing to stop you having both; you can still access each file by
explictly specifying its name. But if you don't specify a filename, the
one highest up the list will be returned.

Message4:

On the pair server (I'm sure you can do it on others too) you can set it to
look for .htm or .html first so it speeds up the page a bit-micro seconds I
would think...

:mrgreen:

chriskq
06-05-2007, 02:32 AM
i wasnt reffering to u kate with the hacked question

martin wrote that in the first post

good info u supplied nevertheless

martin scobie
06-06-2007, 06:35 PM
Dear all at the club many thanks for all the info. I will probably go with the 2 seperate root folders. I think it seems logical. re the question of bieng hijacked . My modest web pages www.vintagewireless.net (http://www.vintagewireless.net) are now 6 years old and I made the mistake of putting an email link on the home page at the start. Now I am recieveing over 200 spams a day and my address is bieng used by spammers, so I seem to be sending spam all over . My address is I think now on the black list, as my contacts report that email sent by be goes into their bin. Hence the changes to a new host.
Thanks again. Martin.