PDA

View Full Version : Building Template with Navigation?

Cassetti
05-15-2007, 02:48 PM
Hey, Question for you guys,

I am new to Dreamweaver MX, I'm pretty much a newbie to Dreamweaver all together.

I'm very interested in using the templates to build a new site for my job. We are a small international corporation in the IT industry.

I want to build a site that resembles this site: http://www.sterlingcommerce.com/

I have one question though: Is it possible to build these templates such that it generates a side bar navigation for each page that lists all the children pages for that folder (there will be 4 sections of the site, each folder will have an index.html and several children pages, possibly several folders also)

To understand what i'm saying - take a look at another page of the same site: http://www.sterlingcommerce.com/About/

Or is it simply better to build one navigation on the side

Now before you say anything about using a CMS (Content Management System) - We already tried that - I used OpenCMS - but unfortunately our Main engineer has concerns about security - and will not let us use it - which SUCKS because i had the site already built - navigation stuff and all!

Any help or suggestions would be much appreciated before i begin building site!

Meeguk
05-16-2007, 06:03 AM
I have some of the same questions. I'm building an index page that I want to later modify to make into a template for other site pages.

I've done most of the work in Photoshop/ImageReady. I used mostly layers for the header/logo and navigation area with layers as background colors. Is this a good idea for the content area also, or should I use tables or frames for the content area.

I'm going to 'rent' out the content area to other users to do as they wish and need to Keep It Simple Stupid as possibe.