PDA

View Full Version : HTTP 404 error


Ajesh
05-01-2007, 11:06 AM
Hi

I am new to dreamweaver and php. i just finish the video tutorial php and echoing result 2nd part and i pressed f12 (dwc.php), i got http 404 error. please help me to correct this.

Thank you

davidj
05-01-2007, 11:49 AM
404 errors mean the file is missing

http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=25553

Ajesh
05-01-2007, 03:14 PM
i think all files are existing. The directories created according to the tutorial, that is in my documents called localroot and webroot

dwc on localhost exists. i tested the connection. it is connected.

following my connection.php


<?php
//////////////
$database = "dwc";
$username = "Ajesh";
$password = "1234";
$link = @mysql_connect('localhost',$username, $password);
$db = mysql_select_db($database, $link);
?>


this is dwc.php


<?php
require_once("connection/connection.php");
///////////////////
$query = sprintf("SELECT * FROM table1");
$result = @mysql_query($query);
$row = mysql_fetch_array($result);
///////////////////////////
echo $row['field2'];
?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
</head>
<body>
</body>
</html>

davidj
05-01-2007, 03:17 PM
ok now go to the WAMP icon in your systems tray

click it and go to WWW directory

that is where WAMP is looking for pages. Is this where you are saving them?

Ajesh
05-01-2007, 03:36 PM
ok now go to the WAMP icon in your systems tray

click it and go to WWW directory

that is where WAMP is looking for pages. Is this where you are saving them?

hi davidj

there is one directory called dossier and two files called index and logo_i

how i will save the files in www

davidj
05-01-2007, 03:42 PM
ok

you need to setup an alias (found within the WAMP icon)

or you need to reinstal WAMP and point it to the remote directory you have set up in My Documents

Ajesh
05-01-2007, 04:06 PM
thank you davidj

it worked

thank you very much, i am proceeding to next tutorial

Bere
05-15-2007, 07:07 PM
Hello,

Did you set it to ....\My Documents\Web Root\Test or just to ....\My Documents\Web Root ? I'm having the same problem you were. I am going to uninstal and install it again because it doesn't let me create an Alias. However, I want to know where to which directory to set it to.

Thanks a million,
Berenice

eebee
05-21-2007, 07:14 PM
Mine does the exact same thing, but I know mine are set in the wamp directory, as I am using the original one, and all of my stuff is saved in c:\wamp\www\

Any help?
Could this be an issue with Dreamweaver CS3?

Edit: Under 'Database' in the Applications panel, it will not register that I have set up a testing server, even though I just went through and double checked all the information.