PDA

View Full Version : Server-Side Code Problem

padi
04-23-2007, 07:04 PM
Hi

First of all let me say a big hello to all you DW experts out in cyberspace, I hope to take an active part in the forum wher I can but it may take soem time.. Me, well this is my 1st post and I am an absolute newbie with regards websites, DW and the like but I learn pretty fast. I have taken over my own site from the guys who were doing SEO and website maintenance before and the first thing I did was download a copy of my sites (I have a few) to my computer.

I have a copy of DW MX2004 but have now upgraded to DW version 8. I have tried to set up the site and all things sem to have gone well except I get this message when I want to view in browser.

'To preview pages containing serverside code, you need a testing server. Would you like to specify one now'

So my questions are:

As I have downloaded my complete site from the server (as a working copy) before I upload files new or updated the server has added 'code' ?

All I am trying to do is view files locally in my browsers

3rd and last please helpppppppppppp (does begging work on this forum?

Regards

Padi

davidj
04-23-2007, 07:58 PM
if the site contains server side code like PHP or ASP then this is going to be bad news.

It wont work! as it is anyway

there is a big possibility that there could be a database backend and im betting you never took a copy of that.

post some code from the site and ill tell you if your in the shite

oh...

welcome to the forum!

padi
04-24-2007, 07:40 AM
Hi DavidJ

Thanks for your speedy response. Well sounds pretty terminal but snippets of code do you need and from where? And now As far as I know I havent downloaded the database and my site is php not html.

Herers hopeing

Regards

Padi

edbr
04-24-2007, 07:47 AM
is your site still on the web?

davidj
04-24-2007, 08:17 AM
I havent downloaded the database and my site is php