PDA

View Full Version : Submit Button

Dave Drew
04-19-2007, 07:31 AM
Very new to Dreamweaver so Im sorry if this is a real basic question. Ive created a submit button for a form on my page. Ive set the Form Properties to:-

POST mailto:myemailaddress.com (myemailaddress.com)

When Ipress the Submit button on my webpage it goes to an Internet Explorer page saying the webpage cant be found.

As I say Im new to Dreamweaver and have transfered my webpage in from Frontpage where the submit button worked so clearly Im missing a page that the submit button takes me to, I think, possibly, maybe:confused:

ANy help appreciated. Thanks

edbr
04-19-2007, 07:36 AM
when you submit a form it is sent to a page to so the code would read for example
<form action="handler.php" method="post">
</form>

it is looking for whatever you have as action

Dave Drew
04-19-2007, 08:53 AM
Thank you for your reply, as I say I really need to be led by the hand on this, where do I input this code?

Whats this handler.php

<form action="handler.php" method="post">
</form>

I'm sure this is all really obvious to you guys, but me well!:confused:

davidj
04-19-2007, 10:14 AM
what your wanting to do is

<form action=mailto:me@domain.com

This is a horrible method and should be avoided

Personaly i like old fashoned mailto links and hate forms for comunicating because i like to retain a copy of my comunication. and if the developer has not built a receipt function then your stuffed.

Just tried to email CWD.dk and there mail sys has been down for months. It looks like it has been abandoned!

chriskq
04-19-2007, 10:47 AM
i kno... whats up wid that Dj. was such a good site.

Dave does ur server handle php?
not hard to whip up a quick form

Dave Drew
04-19-2007, 10:49 AM
Yes it does, but I have no idea about PHP but am keen to learn!

fwr1000
04-19-2007, 03:25 PM
davidj, you mention in this thread that

This is a horrible method and should be avoided when refering to this code