PDA

View Full Version : problems with swf file in ie7 browser


paispais
04-07-2007, 07:09 AM
You know, ie has been a real pain for me when dealing with web design. It has become my true nemesis.

I'm using DW8 and inserting the swf file on a html page. The problem that has me choked-up at the moment is a wtf ordeal with a flash swf file in a ie7 browser. Most browsers give me no problem at all, not even ie6.5. But when viewed on ie7, I have to click on the flash movie to activate it. Not to activate any animations, but to activate the rollover buttons. Does anyone have an idea of what I'm describing here? Why is this? Is there something being left out when embedding the file?

fwr1000
04-07-2007, 01:44 PM
What version of DW8 are you running? The latest update 8.0.2 corrects this issue in IE.

paispais
04-08-2007, 12:12 AM
What version of DW8 are you running? The latest update 8.0.2 corrects this issue in IE.

ahhh, I just recently formatted my HD and installed DW without updating it. This could be the problem.

Someone pointed me to this site http://blog.deconcept.com/swfobject/ ,which shows using javascript code for embedding swf. Has anyone used this method before?

fwr1000
04-08-2007, 12:24 AM
I think if you look at the code DW writes when you inset an .swf, that the auto check for the Flash plug-in javascript is included. I just looked at a page that I have .swf (Flash) inserted and it shows.

Here's that code


<script type="text/javascript">
AC_FL_RunContent( 'codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,19,0','width','475','heigh t','333','title','Cooking in Tuscany','src','SWF_Files/cooking_b','quality','high','pluginspage','http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer','movie','SWF_Files/cooking_b' ); //end AC code
</script><noscript><object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,19,0" width="475" height="333" title="Cooking in Tuscany">
<param name="movie" value="SWF_Files/cooking_b.swf" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<embed src="SWF_Files/cooking_b.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="475" height="333"></embed>
</object></noscript>

Notice the get flash palayer in the code.

domedia
04-09-2007, 01:44 PM
Someone pointed me to this site http://blog.deconcept.com/swfobject/ ,which shows using javascript code for embedding swf. Has anyone used this method before? No need. Like fwr1000 said, this is built into DW.

Amerio
04-10-2007, 01:55 PM
Well
I Faced that problem Long time Ago
I'll tell you what to do

1st of all you need to download a file called "ieupdate" its a script file
download it from here Coz I already have it on my domain

http://www.amer.eons.cc/ieupdate.js

then insert ieupdate into the directory which contains the HTML Files or the html page which u have the problem with it

then Open the HTML file and add this code after the last Object you have in your page , I meant after the flash script

<script type="text/javascript" src="ieupdate.js"></script>

Save all ,test it
and let me know the result

Amerio

ponker
04-12-2007, 04:26 PM
Amerio you have made my day!

I have been searching through all the forums trying to find out what was going wrong, and then I saw this thread and tried and your suggestion................ it worked perfectly!!

Thanks so much!:-D

domedia
04-12-2007, 04:43 PM
I don't think you have to update anything else than your DW..