PDA

View Full Version : Show/hide layer from dynamic link

tux
03-08-2007, 10:03 PM
Hi all,

I have been given the task of upgrading our camera club website. This is my first attempt at dynamic websites, I'm not doing bad for a newbee thanks to this forum. I have managed to populate a gallery page with a photographers thumbnails using an ID passed from the URL. What I'm stuck with is that I want to show the larger images on the same page by showing and hiding a layer contains the larger image, when the thumbnail is clicked. The thumbnails are populated on the page using a repeat region and recordset paging. I can show/hide layers using the behaviours but how can I do this dynamically showing the layer with the correct image each time. Hope this makes sense. Thanks for any help and ideas. Regards

Paul

chriskq
03-09-2007, 12:24 AM
you mean like this?

http://www.ourbridge.com.au/Gallery.aspx

see how the larger version of the image opens inside the same page (that way you dont need a new page for each largeImage)

just some css and javascript is acheiving this.

chriskq
03-09-2007, 12:27 AM
ps i think ur throwing around the term dynamic a little too much there.

dynamic is very backend server side stuff.

and can make the user perceive things are happening 'dynamic' just by using client side code like i mentioned above.

tux
03-09-2007, 06:02 AM
Hi Chris,

Thanks for replying. Yes, thats the type of thing. In Dreamweaver I only have the single image holder with the src coming from the database using the request string from the URL then repeating with a server behaviour. So how do I get this to work on the detail page, ie. create the link on the thumbs etc. so that each one has a different link when viewed in the browser. Hope this makes sense. Thanks again.

Paul

chriskq
03-10-2007, 10:08 AM
sry database isnt my forte' yet. Im just xhtml/css/javascript n some php.

lux
03-10-2007, 03:11 PM