PDA

View Full Version : "Extracting" site


Reflexion
03-06-2007, 12:56 PM
Hi,

I am doing a website, but my website folder is getting unorganized

I was wondering if it would be possible to "extract" all the files needed to run the site in another folder automatically?

thanks

davidj
03-06-2007, 01:17 PM
i would organise your local first into the way you want it then delete your live site and then just do a PUT or ftp the new site structure.

it will only be down for a couple of seconds

Reflexion
03-06-2007, 02:09 PM
My site is not online yet.

and what I wnat to do is oragnising my local.

The problem is that i have a lot of non used pictures or files and I wanted to know if Dreamweaver can tell me what are the files that the site is not using?

thank you

davidj
03-06-2007, 02:28 PM
sorry

dont think this can be done in Dreamweaver

domedia
03-06-2007, 03:01 PM
It's called 'Dependant Files', and DW used to ask me if I wanted to upload them every time I would put a html file on the server.

Reflexion
03-06-2007, 03:03 PM
well, I know that when you export a webpage to an ftp, it says : do you want to link the related files.

I was wondering if this sort of thing could be done in my local root folder.

thank you again

Reflexion
03-06-2007, 03:04 PM
well, if I only want all the dependant files, how can I do it?

domedia
03-06-2007, 03:06 PM
You could upload all html files to a new area on your website with all dependent files, then download to a new area on your local system. This is rather low tech, someone must have a better way.

Reflexion
03-06-2007, 03:46 PM
what is "a new area of your website"?

domedia
03-06-2007, 05:29 PM
a new directory for example

d a v e
03-06-2007, 06:33 PM
or a (different) local directory...

domedia
03-06-2007, 06:47 PM
dave please help out :)
I have not used DW's FTP in some time..

d a v e
03-06-2007, 08:57 PM
make a copy of your ftp details (and maybe export the .ste as well : in the files panel go to Site > Manage site > export )

then back into the site manager and edit the details for the site you want to 'publish'. (manage site > choose site and Edit) then under the advanced tab pick remote info on the left list, and then from the drop down on the right choose 'local/network' and choose the folder where you want to 'ftp' to.

now when you 'connect' you will see the remote folder is on your harddrive (or from wherever you chose it)
;)

Reflexion
03-08-2007, 01:16 PM
hmmm thank you, ill try this when I come home