PDA

View Full Version : cycle images in a thumbnail gallery

inspector lee
03-05-2007, 07:54 PM
Hi, I'm very new to HTML, so please bear with me. I'm currently using a "Thumbnail Gallery" style page for my online portfolio (when the cursor hovers over a thumbnail the image pops up to the left of it) Here's a link: Portfolio (http://www.marshallalmeida.com/Public_html/Pages/Concept_Artn.htm)
What I'm wondering is, would it be possible to cycle through several images, when the cursor hovers over a Thumbnail (instead of just one image for each thumbnail)? I'm thinking of showing several views of a single model in my 3D section

davidj
03-06-2007, 08:12 AM
is that your work ???

chriskq
03-06-2007, 10:36 AM
that stuff is crazy. Nice work if its urs.

seems to be a pretty good way to cycle through images. Takes a bit long to load thou.

Maybe you could a image background centered on the body - or a least a have a background on the div that displays that large version of images

domedia
03-06-2007, 01:57 PM
lee, welcome to the forums!

I'm not actually sure you're going to make it better by doing it that way. Right now, at least the control is on the user. I can view an image for as long as I want to, and it's very intuitive. If you start cycling though the images at a preset speed, the user will lose all control over the experience, and I think it will not be better than what you have now.

Your work is amazing btw. I particularly like the Sci-Fi ones.

inspector lee
03-06-2007, 03:35 PM
Yeah, this is my work, thanks for the kind words. I'm actually pretty happy with how it's working for these 2D images right now, But I also do 3D character design (in Maya) and I thought it might be better (and more intuitive) to be able to cycle through several shots (from different camera angles), when you hover the cursor over a thumbnail of a character design.