PDA

View Full Version : Two Nav Bars in one page


Ricky55
03-05-2007, 10:11 AM
Is there away of getting dreamweaver to allow me to have two nav bars in one page?

I currently have a nav bar setup which is working fine but when I try to insert the second one a dialogue box appears stating

"Each page can only have one navigation bar, and one already exists on this page. Would you like to modify the existing one"

Is there a way around this?

Thanks

Ricky55

davidj
03-05-2007, 12:41 PM
hand code your requirements and stop relying on dreamweavers toys

Ricky55
03-05-2007, 01:26 PM
Thats fine if you know how but I don't.

How would you tackle this if you were to hand code it, does this need java script? or just html?

I would like to know how if you have the time to give me some idea of the basics.

Or is there away of tricking dreamweaver.

domedia
03-05-2007, 03:28 PM
Ricky, I think this is a limitation in the built in tool.

davidj
03-05-2007, 03:29 PM
post a link to the page so i can understand what your after

then i can come up with an alternative

Ricky55
03-05-2007, 05:47 PM
http://www.jaybe.co.uk/home.html

its the flash menu (upper left) that I need to replace as I want the site to run from CD and it won't with the flash menu as these refer to the url.

I suppose these could just be simple rollover buttons but I just wanted to know if there was a way around this.

Ricky

PS
Would still appreciate any other ideas though.

davidj
03-06-2007, 07:29 AM
i think i have said this before...

thats a nice site

cant you just keep this as it is and just use relative links in your flash

Ricky55
03-06-2007, 08:47 AM
Not to my knowledge mate I don't think flash can work like that. Unless anyone knows different.

I'll give it a try but I'm fairly sure the getURL needs exactly that a full URL.

I'll let you know how I get on.

Thanks for your comments about the site and yes you have said it before that you like it but thanks anyway.

Cheers

Ricky55

Ricky55
03-06-2007, 02:08 PM
it is possible to create relative links in flash I've just tested this

using the getURL

b1.onRelease = function() {
getURL("products/beds/bed_selector.html", "_self");
}

Just thought I'd let you know.

davidj
03-06-2007, 02:09 PM
nice one

now you dont have to spoil that nice site with shite alternative navigation