PDA

View Full Version : Newbie attempting CMS

Vifferman
02-20-2007, 10:27 PM
Ok, apologies first for any inherent stupidity in this post.
I'm a complete novice to Dreamweaver & web design.
My question:

I have an opportunity to create our works website, but need to know I'll be able to deliver what they need. Although I have no web design experience I'm pretty conversant in Photoshop, Illustrator, Quark etc, so the design aspect is not a problem - it's the HTML side that is.

The requirements are for a CMS of some sort - mosty to alter news pages, substitute images, & update downloadable manuals (mostly PDF files) that will be in the design. They also want some form of email enquiry form that is useable upon receipt in the general office database.

I'm slowly getting my head around web design & all it's complications, but my main question is this:

Can I just go ahead & design the site as I wish & then find a suitable CMS & use that successfully, or does thesite have to be built in a specific way depending on what bits I want content managed? See, told you there'd be some stupidity. :confused:
Assuming I can, is there a recommended CMS I can use, presumably open source? or is Macromedia's Contribute any good? Bearing in mind that the folk using it will need summat no more complex that word - it would have to be an idiot proof CMS as it were that is also pretty secure.
I'm also estimating that I can learn to build a decent site in 3 months - am I completely bonkers ??:mrgreen:

Thanks for advice.

davidj
02-20-2007, 11:01 PM
so the design aspect is not a problem - it's the HTML side that is.

even if you were an expert in html its not html that performs the magic in a CMS. Even if you were an expert programmer you would never reinvent the wheel by coding your own so lets see what we have.

you have 3 months so use them wisely. Check the link out below and try a few demos out. I liked joomla which i played with a while ago.

http://www.opensourcecms.com/index.php