PDA

View Full Version : Dynamic Jump Menu Link Problem

tux
02-20-2007, 11:50 AM
Hello,

Hope someone can help. I am trying to build a Dynamic Jump Menu populated from a database listing photographer names. The list itself works okay and the names are listed but I cant get them to link to the details page when a name is selected. I could also do with some help with getting the chosen photographers images and details onto the details page so that each photographer doesnt need its own page. I'm new to dynamic web design but I'm picking it up fast. Oh! I'm using ASP.

Thanks all, regards

Paul ( tux ) :o)

davidj
02-20-2007, 12:20 PM
was all set to help. Even had my sleeves rolled up ready to go. Even launched Dreamweaver as i was reading your post....

that was until i read the ASP bit..

sorry but its not my bag

davidj
02-20-2007, 03:35 PM
give PHP a go

you might even like it

tux
02-20-2007, 04:23 PM
Thanks Davidj,

I have had a bit of a go at PHP. I struggled with MySQL tho'. Does PHP support Access databases?

The site I have been asked to upgrade is being run on hosting that doesnt support PHP, so I have had to plump for ASP.

What would your sollution to my problem be in PHP. I may be able to sort it out if I new what I was doing wrong. The recordset populates the list okay but I cant get the list values to link to the detail page. I have been using the book Dreamweaver MX 2004 with ASP, Coldfusion and PHP by Jeff Barbzell. It has taught me quite a bit but cant help with the jump list thing.

Thanks again Davidj, regards

Paul ( tux )

davidj
02-20-2007, 04:36 PM
if you have a site which is written in ASP then your going to have to stick to ASP im afraid.

give you an idea to your problem...

if you are successfully populating the menus from the database then its not ASP thats causing you problems as the code which controls your jump menus would be javascript.