PDA

View Full Version : CSS template shift problem

OtterTail
02-16-2007, 04:05 PM
Hi. I'm new to all of this. I made a simple template using CSS. When I view the template and the pages I made with it by using the "View In Browser" link they look as expected in Safari, IE and Firefox. However, when I navigate to the pages the editable region shifts left so it mostly covers the sidebar in all 3 browsers. I have no idea why it looks different or what is causing the shift.
Here is an example: http://www.ottertailart.com/about_contact.html

I have spent frustrating hours, but just can't figure anything out, especially when it looks fine when I check it with "view in browser".

Thanks in Advance for any help!!

BTW, I have the sidebar positioning set at absolute, 14 px from the left and 130 px wide. I have the editable region positioning set at absolute and 159px from the left. I can't figure out why it moves over to the left when I browse to the pages but stays where it should be when I click on "view in browser".
Thanks.

ramandeep
02-16-2007, 05:03 PM
Hi,
You are using absolute positioning for the elements, i am not a big fan of it but as a fix
As per your CSS

#sidebar {
position: absolute;
width: 130px;
left: 10px;
top: 162px;
color: #99CC99;
height: 455px;
}
#main {
padding: 10px;
position: absolute;
left: 25px;
top: 155px;
right: 10px;
bottom: 10px;
width: 697px;
height: 603px;
color: #FFCCCC;
background-color: #000000;
}

Your sidebar is positioned 10px from right and have a fixed width of 130px, which means you are covering 140px area on left.

Your main( which contains the text) is placed at left: 25px; from right which makes it come over sidebar, if you give it value around 145px, it will be ok.

let me know if you got it otherwise i will post code for you.:-)

ramandeep
02-16-2007, 05:05 PM
Sorry, Welcome to Dreamweaver club!

OtterTail
02-16-2007, 07:07 PM
Thank you, ramandeep!