PDA

View Full Version : Connect a database


kate
02-07-2007, 07:56 PM
Hello,

I can create databeses no problem,

I have trouble connectiong software to a database, a video tutorial would be superb.
Thanks!
:mrgreen:

davidj
02-07-2007, 07:58 PM
i have done one already

http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/vtm

kate
02-07-2007, 08:13 PM
Hey speedy...:mrgreen:

No, I mean in host cpanel. Connect eg, SMF with a database. I can't just get to grips with what to do next. I usually eg, call the database stroppy with password extrastroppy, then do the access for that user.

I go to file manager, SMF then the installer, then I die. Do I put in just the dream_ stroppy and dream_extrastroppy for the password, or just stroppy and extra stroppy? I usually just put the password and username without the dream_

I really would love to master this as putting your own software in host cpanel means you have the very latest, unlike Fantastico which can be a couple of versions behind.

Thanks David!

davidj
02-07-2007, 08:16 PM
i dont have a clue what you just said

im completly lost

cpanel ???

kate
02-07-2007, 08:23 PM
Host as in katesdreamweavercenter.com

Thats where my files are kept in file manager. So in short just 4 u..:mrgreen:

If I dl SMF/IPB then you must first create a database (I can do that in mysqal, its what to do next in file manager when clicking the installer is where I get so I can't connect software to the database.

Alrighttttttttttttttty...:mrgreen:

davidj
02-07-2007, 08:37 PM
im still lost

im guessing that your creating your db from your host panel and you cant create a conection from your scripts to the db

kate
02-07-2007, 08:43 PM
im guessing that your creating your db from your host panel and you cant create a conection from your scripts to the db


:mrgreen: yeeeees but not to worry David, someone will have a video tut somewhere. Its not needed at the moment.

davidj
02-07-2007, 08:45 PM
cant you just ask your host

domedia
02-07-2007, 09:06 PM
Do I put in just the dream_ stroppy and dream_extrastroppy for the password, or just stroppy and extra stroppy? I usually just put the password and username without the dream_ You put in the actual username and password. If your host adds dream_in front of the username, then that is your DB username. Password is password. There is no video tutorial needed for this, your host probably have this information available, if not a quick phone call should confirm or otherwise give you the right info 8)

kate
02-07-2007, 09:29 PM
My host can be such a joke domedia,

Today at 11.am I told them to cancel one of my accounts by e-mail as my printer is not working at the minute. App you have to fill out an online PDF to cancel. I still have had no reply to a second e-mail I sent.

I would'nt ask that company *s all. I would'nt care but I have the business account, also a basic account. Anyway yesterday I found another host far cheaper but I have to wait for Paypal to recive my funds. I will still keep my businesss account at old host.

As for the database connection I can practice that dream_user this week. They do use it like that when host gives the details, maybe thats my problem not using the dream_
Thanks both of you!
:mrgreen: