PDA

View Full Version : New to the forum & dreamweaver

SGR1913
02-02-2007, 04:37 PM
Hi,

I'm a programmer in older technology, and want to learn web design for a couple of projects i have in mind.

I have a few questions if i may:

DreamWeaver- i want to write a website with a database driving it, designed in French, English etc with photos, database searches etc. Dreamweaver seems the ideal product, with plenty scope as my knowledge increases. I was going to buy it whilst in the US, but Adobe implied that i would have problems registering it in Europe.

Now the crunch: i need a new pc or possibly mac. I was leaning towards a mac for the first time in my life, is there any problems with DreamWeaver/technology i should be aware of?

domedia
02-02-2007, 04:50 PM
Hi and welcome to the forums!
DW works perfectly on a mac, so you should be all good.

SGR1913
02-02-2007, 05:18 PM
thanks for the input, a great website by the way. Once i get a new computer i'll be going through the tutorials asap.

davidj
02-02-2007, 07:03 PM
as you are a programmer already im betting you will sharp outgrow what dreamweaver has to offer in terms of drag n drop (wizardy) code snippets.

dreamweaver does have a good hand Coding option

Im an applications developer who can remember the early days of drumbeat and ultra dev but i soon learned to detached myself from the wizardy toys.

I even have my doubts when nubee's pick this up and start scripting using the built in dropdowns. Yes dreamweaver will write the connection script and connect to a database when you fill in a connection questionare. And yes you can delete and add and update records and dreamweaver will write this for you after you tick a few boxes, select a db table from a list and press the OK button. but what happens when they get...

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at .../includes/functions.php:124)
in .../includes/page.php on line 495

What do they do then?