PDA

View Full Version : % vs. Pixels

orso
02-02-2007, 01:34 PM
I was wondering the differences between % and Pixels in the property box. I know the obvious but I was wanting to pick your brains about it. What are the advantages and disadvantages of them and which is better to use and why? Also any tips that you have would be great.

Remeber Im a newbie so its a newbie question. Don't want to get yelled at again. You know yall should have a newbie board for people like me.

davidj
02-02-2007, 01:52 PM
I was wondering the differences between % and Pixels in the property box. I know the obvious but I was wanting to pick your brains about it. What are the advantages and disadvantages of them

% is relevant to the size of the browser and will always be 90% or whatever you have set to that size so even if i shrink the browser you will always be that % size. Pixels however are fixed so will always be 400px wide no matter what size the browser is. Hope this makes sence coz i have confused myself

which is better to use and why?

it really depends on your design and how you want it to look when the browser is resized

Also any tips that you have would be great.

CSS is on everyones lips so i should jump on the band wagon and say use CSS for layout

Remeber Im a newbie so its a newbie question. Don't want to get yelled at again.

Who yelled at you?? Im gona kick their ass!

You know yall should have a newbie board for people like me.

this board is a nubee board!

orso
02-02-2007, 01:58 PM
LOL. I cant remember. They thought I was more then I was.

I was just experimenting and have some glitches (I cant keep it contstrainded, I published one and the box was off the screen when it should only take a 1/3 of it) and was wondering what works best. Kind of the does and dont.

I know you have to use them or they are recommended with html emails I was jsut wondering about site. How often do you use either one.

davidj
02-02-2007, 02:16 PM
you always set a size in a site