PDA

View Full Version : Noob! Can anyone tell me where to start?

starbuck
01-09-2007, 08:41 PM
Hey, Folks,

I'm very new to this web developing lark - I can produce HTML stuff, and have a working knowledge of Dreamweaver, but with the idea I want to undertake, I have no idea where to start.

I want to produce a site of similar style to MySpace or YouTube (not the same) where the user can create their own pages, and upload files. This needs to be dynamic and without any kind of user intervention.

But where do I start?

I had the idea of allowing the user to define their own page on the site using a form based on templates I'd specify, but I'm not sure that this would give my users the greatest degree of control. Uploading of files would also be difficult in this situation.

Help!?

Col. :)

davidj
01-09-2007, 08:54 PM
start here

http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/vtm/

domedia
01-09-2007, 09:22 PM
I'm guessing you're trying to chew over too much. If you are new to web development, you can't just read a tutorial and create a myspace/youtube kind of website.

chriskq
01-09-2007, 10:21 PM
sounds pretty hectic what u want to do for a first time project starbuck.

My suggestion is build a core template for your homepage, then befriend a .Net guru or Php legend and persuade them to do all the backend code. Or you'll have to hire a freelance coder, sorry but theres no way you could do all of this urself, building one of those sites would take alot of experience.

youtube and myspace sites are visually appalling , but its the backend code that u dont c that preforms all the tricky and cool functionality.

unfortunatly theres no button pressing in dreamweaver that can do this for u :(

davidj
01-09-2007, 10:38 PM
if all your after is to understand this aproach and learn the skill to build this stuff then take your time and start with the basics. If this is your objective then there is no need to hire developers which would be completly pointless and require a sizable budget.