PDA

View Full Version : Drop Down Menu Nightmares

randall
12-19-2006, 09:15 AM
I'm revamping my 65 page site and adding drop down menus that I have no experience with. It is very difficult to figure this out...

I have created a java menu using behaviours that I'm happy with.
However, neither copying and pasting or using it as a library item
work when I try to use the menu on another page - it shows up but
without any drop down items available. I have no previous experience with library or template creation - I don't think template creation will work anyway unless I have the right code to allow for global updating....

Bottom line is I need to make global changes easily ala css - but how do you apply this to a drop down menu ? Will global changes work with java or does it have to be entirely css (right now I can't even copy it successfully so doubt it)

I have literally read for hours and have not been able to figure out the 1-2-3 of how to get this done. Can someone point me in the right direction and tell me how I can create a horizontal drop down menu that will allow for global changes ? Is there any easy way to convert my existing java menu ?
I have played around with the context menu and am getting nowhere...

best regards
Randall

davidj
12-19-2006, 09:23 AM
are these dropdown fields or dhtml

domedia
12-19-2006, 01:23 PM
Welcome randall!
Java is not editable in Dreamweaver, bit I hope you mean Javascript as Java has been pretty much abandoned for use in navigation.

Make sure you give enough technical info on what you're trying to do:
http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=23515

Did you read our primer on how to create drop down menus?
http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/dreamweaver-dhtml-menu.php

randall
12-21-2006, 04:10 AM
Hello

thanks a lot for your responses.
I'm using javascript - + behaviour / show pop up menus....don't think this is dthml - again, I'm no expert...