PDA

View Full Version : probably a stupid question

djoutcry
12-12-2006, 10:55 PM
im done making my website on dreamweaver...and i would like to purchase a .com site and upload my dreamweaver file (?) or html files...

how do i do this...

can anyone walk me through this? i'm new at web design. i just want to purchase a .com domain, and get my dreamweaver stuff on there.

thanks in advance :)

neonfluxx
12-12-2006, 11:26 PM
Ok, I will try to answer this as best i can.

Go to www.aplus.net and pay to reserver the name there. You need to do a search on that site and then it will lead you through the payment process. I choose them cause they are cheap.

Are you on Windows or Apple? Because you need a ftp program.

Windows: I recommend Filezilla. Download it hear: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=21558

Mac: I recommend Cyberduck: Download it here: http://cyberduck.ch/

You will need to build a new site profile in which ever one you choose. There are instructions on the respected sites. Both of these are programs are free.

Have a good day,
Neon

djoutcry
12-12-2006, 11:55 PM
hey thanks for the reply

i'll try that and reply if anything

thanks

neonfluxx
12-13-2006, 12:13 AM
No problem. I am new here to but have been in the business for years. I like this place it seems pretty cool and i like to help people.

Who is the owner of this place anyway.

Neon

djoutcry
12-13-2006, 12:28 AM
hey that's cool, i'm liking it here too.

Well i'm pretty sure the administrator goes by the name "domedia"

davidj
12-13-2006, 12:39 AM
your correct guys and im sure he'll be along introducing himself shortly

filmaker2000
12-13-2006, 10:11 AM
Hi, you can certainly acquire webhosting from anyone just check them out, but if you designed your site in dreamweaver you don't need another program to upload your site. Just define your site and upload straight from DW

davidj
12-13-2006, 11:07 AM