PDA

View Full Version : Liquid Web Design (Using Tables)

Fragg
12-08-2006, 07:17 PM
I've designed a few personal web pages both in FrontPage and as of a couple of years ago using Dreamweaver exclusively. I'm trying to improve my web page design flexibility so my web pages can display the two more common resolutions (1024 x 768) and (1152 x 864) given the monitor trends these days. I always designed for (1024 x 768) a never gave the other resolutions much design thought until I bought a new monitor and took a look at one of my pages in a different resolution (ugh!).

Even though I've done this before, I'm self-taught and still consider myself an amateur at this, so forgive what may be stupid questions. :roll:

I'm trying to design a web page with three columns, the center fixed column will have a graphic background that acts as a container for positioned layers containing an I-frame as well as a Java text scroller and a top header that will contain a layer with Flash content. Obviously, if the center frame resizes to fit a particular viewer resolution, all these pages elements will be scattered out of alignment with the background container. I know it may be possible to do without tables using CSS, but I would like to stick with tables for the moment.

I need to make the two side columns expand (or contract) to fit the browser window in response to different resolutions, but keep the center column fixed and centered in the browser so my positioned content does not go out of alignment.

Can anyone offer any guidance? I know this is probably simple to do, but some reason whatever I try does not work. Do I have to nest the center column inside another table or something? Any help with steps to follow would be much appreciated. A good website link on this topic to help me along would also be welcome.

Regards.

domedia
12-08-2006, 07:25 PM
welcome to the forums Fragg!

Tables or frames? You talk about both.

To define a width, simply use <element style="width: 300px;">