PDA

View Full Version : Parts of CSS completely ignored by Firefox!!


Patz
11-29-2006, 05:10 PM
Hello,

A CSS expert put together my design of home page of this site, and I constructed the other pages, learning as I went along....with no previous knowledge of CSS.

http://www.artmusicpolitic.com

Looks great on my mac with Safari, and looks great in IE 6 & 7 on PC....was really pleased with myself until got round to viewing it in FF....nooooooo!

Disaster! Homepage looks fine, but in particular the 'what's on' page and the 'politic' page are almost completely screwed....The whole top box and background image disappears, there is no text formatting, and the right column below that also disappears...quite drastic!

Anyone have any ideas on how to tackle this one?! You might find my CSS a tad messy, I'm still learning!

Thanks in advance

Pat

domedia
11-29-2006, 05:19 PM
Hi Patz,
A wild guess here from just looking quickly at your source.
This line is not valid, and I think FF might be choking on it;
<!--- Banner fc ---->Change this to a valid comment like this and see if that helps your FF output.
<!-- Banner fc -->

Also change this line
<ul class="comingup ">

by removing the space:
<ul class="comingup">

Patz
11-29-2006, 07:23 PM
Good wild guess!!!

But, now although the CSS is working, as you will see the box containing the text is squashed to the left! Again, only in firefox! Any ideas?

http://www.artmusicpolitic.com

Thanks a lot for your quick reply!

Patz
11-29-2006, 07:50 PM
Ok, seems if i specify a width for '.comingUp li' this problem doesn't occur..

Another question! In IE there's an image on the top right of the home page not showing, yet shows in the other browsers!! I thought this might be something to do with thhe 'float' propert but it happens on the 'politic' page with a couple of the links as well. They are all floated in the same way so there is no reason that just a couple shouldn't show! The paths etc must be fine because it's working in other browsers.....??

domedia
11-29-2006, 07:56 PM
Hi again Patz,
Whenever you see a problem like that, look at the code for that specific part to see if there's anything weird going on. In this case, the img tag has some empty attributes. I can't remember off hand if that's valid or not (I think it is), but it still might be that IE chooses to not display it because of empty width and height.

Change this:<img src="images/whatson/whateva_dec_small.gif" alt="" height="" width="">

To this:
<img src="images/whatson/whateva_dec_small.gif" alt="">(or simply fill in the width and height with the right values, DW should automatically fill this in for you)

Patz
11-29-2006, 09:01 PM
Hi,

I've tried that, in fact i've tried without any attributes as well as putting in the correct values....so frustrating!

If you check this page -

http://www.artmusicpolitic.com/politic.html

and scroll down to where the links are, you will see the second two logos are missing. Can't see why, as the other images are used in exactly the same way and are all in the same folder!??

(Everything shows up fine on safari on my mac, and some versions of IE on PC)

domedia
11-29-2006, 09:36 PM
Hi,
I've tried that, in fact i've tried without any attributes as well as putting in the correct values....so frustrating! It shows up fine for me now, so either that or something else you did fixed it. CTRL+F5 to clear your cache.

Patz
11-29-2006, 10:19 PM
did you check this page out in firefox?

http://www.artmusicpolitic.com/politic.html

if you scroll down and look at the links the second two are still not showing

domedia
11-29-2006, 10:53 PM
did you check this page out in firefox?

http://www.artmusicpolitic.com/politic.html

if you scroll down and look at the links the second two are still not showing
Nope I was trying to verify that we got the first problems fixed first.

As far as the images are concerned, the files are corrupt, or missing:
http://www.artmusicpolitic.com/images/pol/waronwant.jpg

Patz
11-29-2006, 11:28 PM
Thanks domedia...

I resaved the images as gifs and they're showing up! Weird that they were visible in safari the whole time.......

The reason i jumped the gun is because i'm back at home on my mac and the other image prob was with IE so I can't check it right now! Could you perhaps confirm all the images on the home page are now present in IE? Or is that what you meant?

Thanks again, you've been a great help ;)

domedia
11-30-2006, 02:02 PM
Yes, they all seem to load well now, nice website!