PDA

View Full Version : shopping cart system

jonsaul
11-14-2006, 04:35 PM
Hi,

Just wondering if anyone could offer me any advice on shopping cart systems.

I would like to set-up a site to retail clothes, maybe 10-20 items per section, is there a system that is better than the others ?? I would like to (ideally) find a system that can accept online payment directly (ie. not via paypal).

Also something esay to set-up/manage as I have no database/php/asp experience, although I do know my AS 2.0, XHTML & CSS so Im hoping it wont be too much of a drag to get into.

Any help, advice, links etc would be most appreciated.

Thanx everyone !!!

davidj
11-14-2006, 04:41 PM
i have built a couple of shops using http://www.actinic.co.uk/

you build the shop and add your products, Upload the site to a host and collect cart and payment info through 1 client GUI (every thing done from the installed client software) It even prints off your invoice's and despatch notes for your orders.

its a very proffessional product

You can try it for 30 days too

jonsaul
11-14-2006, 04:55 PM
Thanks for your reply, I took a look at the examples online, seems pretty good to me.

How did you find it to develop ?? Does it come as a set of templates or something like that ? I am looking for something that I can customise well or add to bespoke pages, I want it to look good !

Which of the systems did you use ?
Would you say I need any dynamic development experience to set this up ?

davidj
11-14-2006, 05:01 PM
you dont need to have any scripting experience and there are a few built in templates to work with I would say it will take a day or two to get to grips with (i would invest in a good book also)

it does however use its own tag based language which i delved into and found it ok. This however will take longer to master but will be a great tool if you became a guru in it

jonsaul
11-14-2006, 05:06 PM