PDA

View Full Version : loading times?


TheBaldOne
10-30-2006, 02:40 PM
A quick one for you all:

These two links show two websites and how they load up:

http://www.planetrock.com and http://www.ebay.co.uk

why does planetrock open all in bits as opposed to ebay everything appears at the same time.

Is there a way to stop you webpage appearing until all items have loaded?

Hope that makes sense.

Cheers
TheBaldOne

davidj
10-30-2006, 03:45 PM
both open the same for me

its down to traffic and your connection. You may also have one in cache which will help. One sever could be actioning your request slowly due to traffic loads etc etc

you can preload images from index pages which may help but at the end of the day its down to internet/server/networking speeds.

domedia
10-30-2006, 03:45 PM
planetrock has more images and more stuff to load, so it seems to load slower, which is actually right :)

Ebay however loads lightning fast, most likely due to the limited amount of images and faster server and connectivity.

>Is there a way to stop you webpage appearing until all items have loaded?
Everyone else wants the opposite, if your website starts appearing, at least people knows it there. If I go somewhere and nothing loads in a couple of seconds, I'lljust ealve assuming the website does not work ;)

EDIT: just saw what DJ wrote and that all makes sense as well.

TheBaldOne
10-30-2006, 04:08 PM
As always your all a great source of advice and information.

Thanks for your comments.

domedia
10-30-2006, 05:30 PM
Cheers TheBaldOne, that's why we're here!