PDA

View Full Version : What can CSS do exactly

Jittor
08-29-2006, 03:34 PM
Hello All,

I know HTML enough to get by and lately I have been really studding it and getting to know it better. Since I am a graphic designer I have always used Photoshop/Illustrator and sliced the images out and created a my websites that way. Well, when I do it that way I have to be careful what text I use because the slices are only so big and the sides have to be able to stretch when I need more room. The big thing is when people visit my site this is clearly what I have done. I want to be better than that and CSS seems to do this...I think.

I stumbled on the site csszengarden.com and it's really cool. What I want to know is - Is it CSS that can make a site like this: http://www.csszengarden.com/?cssfile=/195/195.css&page=0

Meaning, text all aligned in one column and links and such in another column, have a header and footer, and the background seems to be behind the text and as one piece not sliced out. All of csszengardens samples are like this. Here is another example: http://www.csszengarden.com/?cssfile=/194/194.css&page=0

Am I correct in assuming that this is what CSS can do or is this something else? I would like to know so I know which direction to go to expand my knowledge of web and web design. Any suggestions on learning sites or books are welcome as well.

Thanks everyone.

Jon

domedia
08-29-2006, 08:58 PM
You're right. All the CSS Zengarden pages (all the different looks) are made with the exact same HTML page. The design difference between them are all made with their respective CSS file.

Jittor
08-29-2006, 09:05 PM
Okay, So as a designer I can design the look of the site and then use CSS to place the graphics and text where I need them and format them. Is that correct? HTML is basically just the structure with CSS making it look good?

Jittor
08-29-2006, 09:25 PM