PDA

View Full Version : Earning a Living From Website Development

stoneygossard
07-30-2006, 07:56 PM
Guys,

Can u help me out with some honest advice here.I want to earn a living from website stuff. I am a programmer and heavily into CSS these days.Can i work from home hoenstly or is it just a myth? please advise me?

Stoney

ramandeep
07-30-2006, 09:09 PM
There is no doubt nowdays its becoming a trend that companies give options to designers to work from home. It does saves them money aswell.

But working from home is not easy until you know how to manage your personal life and professional.

I will suggest you that you should think of your sources of getting work before you take a plunge, the biggest plus point is you keep your overheads low but the biggest hurdle aswell is getting projects as there is no or very small budget on advertising yourself.

there is lots of stuff available on net about this topic, i will suggest you to go thru it.

Whateve decision you make, i wish you goodluck for your future!

dthomsen8
07-30-2006, 09:40 PM
Some of the people doing website development only work part-time with another job, or are retired and doing it to add to the pension benefits. They can afford to work for less than those who are trying to earn a decent living from doing it full time.

Finding clients is actually the more difficult task than actually doing the work, though.

Creative Insanity
07-31-2006, 03:46 AM
I know many that do this (including myself). As ram said it is not as easy as you may think as there are WAY more distractions at home (even more if you still have children at home) then you may believe.
One method is (and the one I use) is to have the light system. Above my door there are 2 sets of LEDS, one green and one red. When red is on keep away from me. Then it is just a matter of educating the family to obey the LEDs.