PDA

View Full Version : Two Drop Down Menus?


leech
07-19-2006, 01:31 PM
Hi there
I have finally got everything right from the wonderful tutorial written at http://alistapart.com/articles/horizdropdowns
I had it all done as the final result should be. But now I have a question... how do I add another dropdown menu to come off the first drop down menu.
For example, if I click on Services, and then Web Hosting, I want another option to be able to Click on something like
Web Hosting>
- Plan One
- Plan Two
- Other Links.
How is this possible?
Also, another question - when I preview it in Internet Explorer, I realised that everything is messed up.
I know it was mentioned in the article, but I have no idea where to paste the codes to work around the Internet Explorer bug.
I tried pasting it in as a style, but it won't work.

Any input would be very much appriciated.

domedia
07-19-2006, 04:29 PM
Since it has to plug in to the menu you're already using, I suggest you read the comments on ALA for that article and ask there if not mentioned earlier in the comments. I'm using one right now that comes from the Javascript Anthology book from Sitepoint, which is a nested ul list that supports multiple nested flyouts.

dthomsen8
07-29-2006, 10:23 PM
Also, another question - when I preview it in Internet Explorer, I realised that everything is messed up.
I know it was mentioned in the article, but I have no idea where to paste the codes to work around the Internet Explorer bug.
I tried pasting it in as a style, but it won't work.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/workshop/author/dhtml/overview/ccomment_ovw.asp

will provide you with Microsoft's official information on conditional comments, which are what you need to fix IE bugs. Be careful with how you specify the conditions, remembering that IE 7 now exists to provide possible confusion.

potteryware
08-04-2006, 05:15 AM
do you have a sample of the code for these drop down menus that
is completed. I tried to follow his example but could not, but if
I had the code already in front of me and then read the tutorial I
probably could figure it out

my e mail is buildingbrick@earthlink.net

potteryware
08-04-2006, 05:17 AM
http://alistapart.com/articles/horizdropdowns

I tried to following this tutorial, but could not. If I had the code
already in working and then compared it to the tutorial I probably
could figure it out.

So if you have the code that works, and I could look at it plus referring
back to this tutorial I would appreciate you e mailing it to me at
buildingbrick@earthlink.net

domedia
08-04-2006, 12:36 PM
http://msdn.microsoft.com/workshop/author/dhtml/overview/ccomment_ovw.asp

will provide you with Microsoft's official information on conditional comments, which are what you need to fix IE bugs. Just a quick note on this. The conditional ccomments doesn't fix anything by themselves, but used in many cases to send seperate instructions to IE, and through that technique fix some bugs. But far from all, there's plenty of other fixes to fix other bugs in IE :)