PDA

View Full Version : Cannot find html errors


Alegrio
07-06-2006, 03:43 PM
Hi there,
I cannot find these errors in the html code:
Page is at:
http://www.whispering-baby-names.com/The-Top-100-Baby-Boy-Names-For-1999.html

2 problem is trying to validatew, says it has no Doc type, when I insert the standard two lines of DW html page, it blows this apart, not sure what to remove when I insert this??

Thanks





HTML Errors and Recommendations

Certain tags must be closed off (i.e. <SCRIPT> and <TITLE> tags) before another tag can be introduced into the code

There is no immediate closing tag which matched the opening <SCRIPT>

Your page contains the following unbalanced tag(s) which may cause unpredictable results in your visitor's brower:

There are 4 more opening <TR> tags than </TR> tags.

In the HTML page that you just uploaded, the following images do not have their width and/or height dimensions specified:

http://c12.statcounter.com/counter.php?sc_project=1234939&java=0&security=77edc51d&invisible=1

<IMG> tags should always include width="image-width" height="image-height" for quicker rendering in you visitor's browser.

domedia
07-06-2006, 09:14 PM
You're not saying which doctype you're inserting. Most likely, you will need a transitional one, try HTML 4.01 transitional, but for future websites, it's a good idea to insert doctype from the start and begin working on a blank page that already is valid, that way you know which mode your website is rendered in.

You've got plenty of structural errors as well, especially in your tables.
the w3c validator will pretty much tell you what's wrong with nice verbose instructions as well:
http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.whispering-baby-names.com%2FThe-Top-100-Baby-Boy-Names-For-1999.html

Alegrio
07-06-2006, 11:09 PM
Hello,
I have worked on this page:
http://whispering-baby-names.com/Baby-Names-Of-Female-Celebrities-And-Actresses.html
Fixed a few errors and created a few new ones, yes they do tell the errors, but take for granted that I know what to replace them with.
I am wondering if one of those companies that scans your pages, produces a page where you copy source may be my best solution? :D
Any suggestions??

domedia
07-07-2006, 12:50 AM
Nope, I haven't heard of any companies like that :-/
If you're going to make websites you have to learn html sooner or later.. might as well do it now :)

I looked at your page, and I wouldn't worry about the errors you've got left. Page looks great!

Creative Insanity
07-07-2006, 02:58 AM
shock horror! No doctype leaves a browser to render as it sees fit and with IE that is not a good move.

Place this above the open html tag.
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">

Alegrio
07-07-2006, 09:15 AM
Hi there ,
So I missed a few things, nice colors though....no?
I think I may have found the help I need:
http://www.netmechanic.com/products/maintain.shtml

It is 2 am on the west coast and I am still digging out extra tags..
with 208 pages to go with those tables on them.

I am copying and pasting these of the old pages to this new design, is this causing all the extra tags or?

May I ask, on the Dreamweaver Command/Clean up html is there anything I can do or enter in there that may speed up the task at hand?
I have the first 2 checked and the 1 st option,
Thank you

Alegrio
07-07-2006, 09:26 AM
OK,
This is the report netmechanic gave on a page with a lot of extra tags,
I use SBI hosting that scans all pages as they are uploaded and advises of errors,

http://r.netmechanic.com/toolbox/html_repair/cr.cgi?f=f/112/187/0356/56-06130/&fv=5&s=NetMechanic&t=HTML+Check+%26+Repair&fp=1&ss=&so=&p=1

Any feedback if this is worth serious consideration, 2:25 am and 207 pages to do.

domedia
07-07-2006, 03:33 PM
Are you going to edit all pages manually? I think that's insane, you need to either dynamically make yourpage server-sde or use dreamweavers template system.

As for the page in question you only need to fix your table structure errors, which are serious errors, and you'll be good I think :)

Alegrio
07-07-2006, 06:42 PM
Yes, very insane,
I am going to fix 1 table and then transfer the data onto that for each page, best I can do, I do not know how to do your first two suggestions.
Is it worth looking at doing this table layout in css?

This may have to take backseat for today, all the text on my browser window tool bar in FireFox and IE is sparkling and dancing..virus somewhere..
This day is doomed.
If I do not reply back my system crashed and I left it that way...
Thanks for your help..

domedia
07-08-2006, 04:23 AM
Yes, if you had this layout in CSS instead of tables, you could have changed the CSS file only and it would change the look fo your whole site :)