PDA

View Full Version : ~ Tilde in numerical data


mrclark0
06-29-2006, 03:29 PM
Does anyone ever work with numerical data?

I am working with CSV files that when downloaded come with a ~ inside the data

I'll post an example. The filename is ok. (I understand that sometimes a filename can change due to lenth and be abreviated with a ~, but that isn't the case here.)

Example below. See it appears in the column after a number. I have several colums in my data where this occurs.

I know I could do a find/replace, but to do this every day when I upload data is going to be a pain in the rump.

Any one else have this happen?

http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e158/primesites/tilde.gif

davidj
07-05-2006, 02:27 PM
does the raw CSV have this tilde in the data ???

or is excel interpreting something else.

mrclark0
07-05-2006, 03:01 PM
does the raw CSV have this tilde in the data ???

or is excel interpreting something else.

Yes david.

What I've done for the time being is downloaded my data in wordpad, did a find-replace (which took a large amount of time...LOL) and then re-uploaded the data to the database.

Now I'm simply doing a find/replace daily before I upload the data.

Eventually, what I hope to do is somehow cron the download right into my database, so I don't have to touch it manually.

that would be superduper!

thanks for your reply

davidj
07-05-2006, 03:30 PM
you using PHP??

mrclark0
07-05-2006, 06:26 PM
you using PHP??

yes.

but whether I'm actually "using" it or not is another question.

More like, its "there" but I don't know any coding (besides what I come across on the net and what's built into dreamweaver).

so I'm doing the best I can.

davidj
07-06-2006, 07:50 AM
send me a snippet of the CSV containing 100 or so lines including the tilde

i will write a script to handle it

the better method is to be pro-active rather than re-active and find out whats writing the tilde in the first place and correct it at scource

but i can write a small script if you want