PDA

View Full Version : I need some help coding a Form

CSUjr
05-27-2006, 02:53 AM
I am new to writing HTML.

I have read HTML tuts, looked at examples and tried different things, but I'm stuck on how to make my Form do what I need it to do.

I have a simple Form that a user inputs information in and clicks a submit button.

When the information is submitted, it must match a specific line of text (which is always the same and is specified somewhere within the code of that same page).

If the submitted information does not match the specified line of text, then I need to present a message to the user to enter the correct information.

If the submitted information does match the specified line of text, then I want to send the user to another (specified) page within the site.

This is what I have so far;

<html>
<body>
<form name="input" action="html_form_action.asp"
method="get">

<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">
Enter your answer and click Go
</p>
<form>
Answer:
<input type="text" name="answer">
<input type="submit" value="Go">
</form>

Question>>>If the answer is not correct, what code do I need to put in here (???) to return a message like, "Please enter the correct answer"

Question>>>If the answer is correct, what code do I need to put in here (???) to send the user to a specified page within the site?

</font>
</body>
</html>

Also, is this the correct type of form for what I am trying to do? <form name="input" action="html_form_action.asp"
method="get">

Can anyone help by providing me with the code that I need to make this Form do what I need it to do?

Thank you,
Charles

edbr
05-27-2006, 03:36 AM
I am guessing that you wouls have to validate in your "html_form_action.asp"

CSUjr
05-27-2006, 04:13 AM
I am guessing that you wouls have to validate in your "html_form_action.asp"

I don't understand what you mean by that.

Can you please explain.

edbr
05-27-2006, 05:42 AM