PDA

View Full Version : Body And Header showing as different sizes


Alegrio
05-21-2006, 08:08 PM
Hi there, could someone pleae view this page in Firefox and IE, the top header and the body are the same width on my browssers and nobody eleses.. the top is showing as smaller, I set the size for the top at 86% and the bottom is 800px.
Thanks

http://www.beauty-and-the-bath.com/Secrets-to-Sexy-Hair.html

This is how it looks on my browsers...

dthomsen8
05-21-2006, 09:03 PM
Hi there, could someone pleae view this page in Firefox and IE, the top header and the body are the same width on my browssers and nobody eleses.. the top is showing as smaller, I set the size for the top at 86% and the bottom is 800px.
Thanks

http://www.beauty-and-the-bath.com/Secrets-to-Sexy-Hair.html

This is how it looks on my browsers...

This page shows the same way in IE6 and Firefox 1.503 as on your attachment. Please explain the problem.

dthomsen8
05-21-2006, 09:04 PM
Firefox screen capture below.

dthomsen8
05-21-2006, 09:08 PM
What I can say is that your code uses a number of proprietary or invalid parameters. The result is not valid HTML 4.01, with 27 errors and a number of warnings, too, at http://www.w3.org validation.

Alegrio
05-22-2006, 04:41 AM
Hi, I had someone view this page when I publishsed it and they sent a screen shot showing the top/header narrower than the bottom body. It seemed fineto me.. I have made some changes and have the errors down to 18, lol
Not sure what to add to this one, which would talk care of a number of errors.

Warning Line 116 column 87: cannot generate system identifier for general entity "map".

...ch.freefind.com/find.html?id=4846935&map=0&page=0&ics=1" onClick="window.loca

This is the line in my code:

<td class="links_menu_td">
<div id="menu_parent6">Site Map (http://search.freefind.com/find.html?id=4846935&map=0&page=0&ics=1)</div>
</td>


Working through the rest..
Thanks for the help
Alegrio

dthomsen8
05-22-2006, 12:38 PM
You often can live with a warning, which is what that is. Sorry, but I don't know what is wrong with that code line. Make sure you get rid of the errors, though, they can be a problem, especially on older browsers.