PDA

View Full Version : Whats the best Way to learn dreamweaver

daveball
05-17-2006, 09:45 PM
Hi all, I am new to web design, but I have tried it b4 and got lost in dreamweaver as its such a big programme.
I have bought dreamweaver 8 studio and a tutorial (video) to go with it and I am determined to make it work for me this time.I am looking to make a part time hobby from it .
what I need to know is what should I learn 1st , fireworks or dreamweaver,
or would any one have any tips on learning from the start, appreciate any feedback u may have,
The newbie :arrow:

ranjan
05-17-2006, 11:40 PM
The BEST way to learn Dreamweaver is NOT to learn it.

The question you ask is like asking. Hey I want to be a writer... What would be the best way to learn to write with "Brand XYZ" PEN?

If you asked a question like that, the answer would be Learn the language and you can use any pen. Its not important that you learn to use a pen its important to learn the language.

The Language here is HTML and the Pen is Dreamweaver

Moral of the story: If you learn to use a pen you would only know how to scribble!

edbr
05-18-2006, 02:57 AM
I feel a little differently from ranjan. Making a website began as part time interest for me. I found that by using dreamweaver and even at first some wasted time on front page,I quickly saw results. I learned from trial and error. looking at what other people had created, copying their source codes and slowly (in my case) I began to get it. If I had had to try and learn html to begin with I would have quit.
Learn dreamweaver first.

johnworf
06-09-2006, 11:25 AM
video tutorials are an excellent way of learning - books i find are very difficult to learn from as you tend to get bored or lose the plot after a couple of chapters - but with video tutorials you can just sit back and watch - so much easier.

You can also see exactly what buttons the person is pressing as you follow along...