PDA

View Full Version : CGI Script - advice needed

Wayne
05-10-2006, 05:59 PM
I have designed site that I need to have a form on, I have designed the form and cannot get it to work, I have never used scripts before so am a bit confused were to start.

I have looked all over net for handling forms for my site form and still cannot grasp how to get it right. can anyone help me with this.

Wayne

HeadAche
05-10-2006, 11:07 PM
Alright wayne'y boy... Dont know if you have stricktly posted this in the right section, but anyway. Theres a few things you have to check over here mate. Seems hard and arduas at first but after the first couple of times you will have it nailed.

1. I think you should first look for some documentation on your server providers help section. They should have some documentation regarding their own CGI system, all hosts seem to have different rules & regs.

2. The general rules for CGI scripts are thus. CGI scripts are normally stored in a folder called cgi-bin (www.domain.com/cgi-bin/). You need to CHMOD this folder to '755'. If you were using cuteFTP to do this you would right click on the folder to access and change the CHMOD setting. This means that the scripts in the folder can be executed (also refered to as setting permissions). The CGI file should also be CHMOD to '755'.

When uploading a cgi script file to your server through your ftp client, you may need to upload it in ASCII format. Again, using cuteFTP as an example you would just do this by selecting File > Transfer type > ASCII, then upload the file tp the cgi-bin folder.

3. I would say the most popular CGI script for feedback forms is formmail.cgi. Google it if you havent already got it if you find the one you have wont work.

4. On my server, my hosts make me add the email address I want to email the results of the form back to, to a email allowed list file, so that might be worth keeping in mind aswell.

Wayne
05-11-2006, 09:59 PM