PDA

View Full Version : Making Area Editable for Regular Users

Shooga
05-03-2006, 10:25 PM
Hi everyone.
Another newbie here... :wink:

I am creating an Intranet using DW and FW. I think I understand templates, but here is my question. Let's say I have a home page that will need the body text updated all the time with HR, Dining Hall info, etc... and I want the admin folks to do that (people with NO design experience). They do not have access to DW. How can this happen?
For example, would I have a notepad text file on the server that links into the index page body content area and they can just update that?

I have searched the forum & didn't find anything, but then perhaps I am using incorrect terms.

Thanks a trilllion for your help...cuz I need it bad!! :lol: :lol:
~Shooga
:wink:

Shooga
05-03-2006, 11:44 PM
I just did additional research while waiting for replies (cricket...cricket) :-D (just teasing)
and I read about DW's Contribute? Do any of you use if? Do you like it?

Again..thank you for your time!

~Shooga :wink:

domedia
05-04-2006, 01:07 AM
Contribute is created specifically for this reason, so I would give it a try. I did a trial version once and found it to work perfect. I think a copy of Contribute is (was) $100. It basically gives a simply user interface for client to update ediable areas. Give the trial versioan a try, you might like it alot :)

Shooga
05-04-2006, 04:03 PM
Hi Domedia - Thanks for your response!
My company is a startup and cannot afford the extra cost to buy Contribute. Whats worse is I will be leaving this company pretty soon so they won't have anyone to make these minor changes that they need.