PDA

View Full Version : thumbnails taking too long to load

zofiaphoto
05-03-2006, 12:40 AM
I'm pretty new to DW and I designed my site and then posted it today. Problem is that the 2 pages containing thumbnails and layers are taking a little long to load. I have a G4, I can only imagine that a slower PC with and slower browser than Safari would take even longer. The thumbnails are 2-3k each, so they're small, and each image in it's layer is about 38k totaling about 30 thumbs, plus 30 images in each layer/a page. Is the problem that there are too many thumbs or too many images/layers? And if so, what's a good solution...another page?
Thanks. Z

If this doesn't make much sense, sorry, please see www.zofiaphoto.com to get a better idea.

davidj
05-03-2006, 08:35 AM
if i understand this correctly you have a page which is over a MB

this would take time no matter what machine your using

i sugest using a CRAY then you wont notice any slow loading speeds

http://www.cray.com

dthomsen8
05-03-2006, 11:25 AM
I'm pretty new to DW and I designed my site and then posted it today. Problem is that the 2 pages containing thumbnails and layers are taking a little long to load. I have a G4, I can only imagine that a slower PC with and slower browser than Safari would take even longer. The thumbnails are 2-3k each, so they're small, and each image in it's layer is about 38k totaling about 30 thumbs, plus 30 images in each layer/a page. Is the problem that there are too many thumbs or too many images/layers? And if so, what's a good solution...another page?
Thanks. Z

If this doesn't make much sense, sorry, please see www.zofiaphoto.com to get a better idea.

Your results on pages like "Tradition" are magnficient. You may be new to Dreamweaver, but the photography is really excellent, and the presentation is very well done.