PDA

View Full Version : Customer demands - Ecommerce site

RobG
05-02-2006, 08:22 PM
Hello all.

I am just starting out in web design, and I have my first client interested in an ecommerce site. We have had a meeting to discuss requirements. Here are the main oints raised by the client:

- Ability to add/modify/delete items from catalogue.
- Automated 'out of stock' notice once the final item sells.
- Site must be easy for them to maintain.
- Site starting with around 40 products.

Having thought about a solution for a little while, I can see that it would be best to use a database to store product details including stock level. However this idea presents a problem for the user to be able to update stock level themselves as they are not familiar with SQL at all. I am having some trouble finding decent content management software that would allow the client to add new product lines to the site with their very limited HTML skills.

So here is my question. Is the client expecting too much? They are only a small/new business and as such aren't looking to pay too much for site development.

If you can give me any tips on managing customer expectations or point me in the direction of a solution for this problem, then I will be most grateful.

Thanks

Rob

domedia
05-02-2006, 08:43 PM
Hi Rob and welcome to the forums :)
I don't think the client is expecting too much. You should be looking for a commercial ecommerce solution, not a content managment solution. The only ecommerce solutions I've been involved with have used propietary software developed here and not for sale, so I can't help you with recommendations.

Anyone else?

RobG
05-02-2006, 08:52 PM
Hi domedia,

Thanks for the warm welcome and information.

Can I ask, does the software developed at your company allow the client to add/modify/delete products on their website? If so, how easy is it for them to do? Would you be able to point me towards a site using this software on the net?

Many thanks.

Rob

domedia