PDA

View Full Version : Newb Designing a Website

Prologue
04-04-2006, 01:00 AM
I'll start out by saying that I am new to page designing and Dreamweaver. I've read many articles and forum posts about the subject and have decided to do the page using CSS layout with a separate style sheet and go for a liquid design. I want the liquid design because it allows the page to take advantage of lareger screen resolution while still catering to the smaller screen users. The liquidity will be for the main content box, (which would hold updates on the main page and tutorials/faqs on the section pages), and the header(menubar) and footer. I would like a column on the left for the non-liquid side menu.

Now to start the questioning!

With CSS, how do most of you position the elements on your page? Do you use just layers? Layers with nested divs, is there such a thing? Or do you take a strictly non-layer approach? I am still unfamiliar with the theories behind this, advantages disadvantages, etc.

I have noticed in the Dreamweaver starter sites that the CSS pages have no layers, what gives? I suppose they are using the div tag wrapper, but I am unfamiliar with it all and have been unable to find much useful info on the web regarding div tags and Dreamweaver.

I have also read that Dreamweaver layers are merely absolutely positioned div containers, so why the fancy 'layer' name and dialog box just to handle absolutely positioned div containers?

How the heck do YOU use div tags to position stuff on the page, any special techniques things I should watch out for, common mistakes?

Edit: Should I use Server Side Includes? Are they necessay if you use templates?

Thanks for the help and I look forward to the challenge of building this baby.

Prologue
04-04-2006, 08:45 AM