PDA

View Full Version : Conceptual question

phild
03-31-2006, 02:08 PM
Hi all,

I'm a newbie that is stuck conceptually...

I have created a Home page using Fireworks and Dreamweaver and I'm stuck with where to go next. You see, I want more than one page...

The next thing I did was create a template out of my home page, leaving a large area in the middle editable for main content. So, this kinda makes sense to me, I will have consistency (of the non editable regions) across all pages which is good. My problem is, how do I develop graphics and content for this area.

My thoughts were, to create a set of separate content pages (using Fireworks and Dreamweaver) and then in some fashion, 'suck' them into my main content area. Some questions regarding this: Does this make sense, is it the right approach, or is there a better way? If this is the way to go; what does this content page look like, is it a full html page with header, title, body etc. or is it just a fragment for example a <table> descriptor? Finally, how do you do the 'sucking' in part :) ?

On a higher conceptual level, are templates the way to go? Is there a better way?

All help will be very much appreciated,
Phil

davidj
03-31-2006, 03:22 PM
everything has its place. Like Templates

I have never touched them myself coz i get clostraphobic (im a free bird )

my way of developing is to knock up a concept design in a fav graphical app then slice it up

bits include..
menu, content area, banners, navigation, pics etc

i export this into DW and define my CSS assigning backgrounds and binning content placeholders. Once happy i name this page as template.htm (or .PHP depending on how much magic dust im going to use)

Once i have a basic page i start saving these pages as i develop them..

index.htm
products.htm
contact.htm

i can feel lots of heads shaking ... like when i put the car in for repair last week! :?

domedia
03-31-2006, 03:30 PM