PDA

View Full Version : Help question

dragoninc
03-20-2006, 06:33 AM
Ok, i'm fairly new to dreamweaver, i used it barly in a class, well now i need to make a simple site for the game i play, we got a website for map downloads, and we're puttin a site on it, but when in dreamweaver i click get files, it takes the maps out of the folder which takes forever, idealy i want the whole site in a folder in the website ftp, i know when i do this it doesn't read the index, how would i go about beign abel to put the whole site, index and all into a folder? is there a script i need to put in? or what?

also, any good macromedia help site? or cool things i can put in the site?
thanks

edbr
03-20-2006, 07:00 AM
sorry not clear what you are asking. You want to upload your site?

Creative Insanity
03-20-2006, 07:58 AM
Use an ftp client to download the site. DW was not designed as a ftp client so really you should not use it as such.

chriskq
03-20-2006, 09:42 AM
just make a folder on your desktop with a structure this structure: (inside ur folder name have one folder called common. Within commn - have folders for images, styles, scripts, flash (etc) that way when u ftp to your live www.site all your references should be sweet..

Which now brings me to the next point:
in your code, make sure your src for say an img would be img src-"common/images/filename.gif" etc.

then you be all setup.
have a look at this site. i made it for my brother (school project, i used a bunch of scripts that u may like.. )
ps- the site structure is donw, but not content - so no critics pls (lol)
get back to us any queries
http://www.massarcade.com/chris_testing/2bedeleted/index.html

pps - filezilla is good, or ws ftp pro, or FF has a extension for ftp

dragoninc
03-20-2006, 10:40 PM
chris.
for this my site is www.playgroundinc.net,