PDA

View Full Version : Transparent Background?


tlsgraphics
03-18-2006, 10:46 PM
How do I keep a transparent background on a image that I have imported in from Photoshop? I'm using this image for an animated gif.
As I create the gif in fireworks the image still appears to have a transparent bacground, but when I preview, it changes to white. Also when I add this image to my site, the background changes to white.
Your suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
TLS

Creative Insanity
03-18-2006, 10:52 PM
Um.. so what are you using? Photoshop or Fireworks.. if the latter I cannot help as I do not use FW.

tlsgraphics
03-18-2006, 10:57 PM
I use PS to create the image.
I'm using FW to convert it to a animated gif.
I know PS much better than FW for manipulating images.
I'm just trying to keep by background transparent.
Thanks for your assistance,
TLS

d a v e
03-19-2006, 09:38 AM
open the original psd in fireworks, set the canvas colour to match the destination background (i.e. the colour of the web page where the gif will appear) and choose that as the transparent colour in the export options

Creative Insanity
03-19-2006, 11:59 AM
If you know PS better than just use ImageReady to create the animation and set the properties to use trasparent rather than white, (which is the default in IR)