PDA

View Full Version : What is this....?

CSUjr
03-18-2006, 02:36 AM
I am new to web design and I'm working on my first web site using Dreamweaver 8.

I have made a few pages and then looked at the code.

There is code above the <head> that I don't understand.

Can anyone tell me what it is, why it is there, who is www.w3.org and is this really necessary to be part of the page?

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">

My first guess was that it is used to set the language to English. If so, is there another way to set the language without having to have this refer to a web site to do it?

If that's not what it is then - What is this...?

Creative Insanity
03-18-2006, 02:56 AM
Yes it does need to be there as that is the doc type (although you are using the wrong one) as it tells the browser how to render the pages. If it is not there then the page can be rendered anyway the browsers sees fit.. which is bad.
The correct doc type you need is:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
<html>

CSUjr
03-18-2006, 03:27 AM
I thought that it had to be in the code but your answer still leaves questions.

First, you said that the code that I posted is wrong. While I'm not saying that it is not, why then (being wrong) did Dreamweaver put it in there that way?, if you know.

Can you tell me, if you know why the reference to the w3.org web site is there? In other words - is that the Only way to render pages to the browser?, if you know

Thanks

gmcrone
03-18-2006, 06:43 AM
Doc Types are standards set by the W3C to tell the browser which standard of display to use in presenting your pages.
And yes they are necessary.
You are using an XHTML standard which is the newer version for more modern browsers. It is much more strict in its interpretation of how your web pages are written.