PDA

View Full Version : import web template

daveball
03-14-2006, 08:52 PM
Hi all new member and new to dreamweaver,
I have dreamweaver 2004mx studio and want to get started designng my website, I was going to buy a template to save some time in design, just a few questions, how do I save the template and how do I put it into my website, and guys, please, you are dealing with a total novice here so I would really appreciate when you were answering this to pretend your talking to someone tat knows little about webdesign, I am hoping someone somewhere can help me, many thanks and love your forum :lol:

edbr
03-15-2006, 12:32 AM
Hi. You will need to create a site with DW and save your pages in it. Dreamweaver has some good tutorials in its help and you can check http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/vtm/ on this site for help. Try these first .

daveball
03-15-2006, 11:36 AM
Thats a great courses u have there,very informative.
What I need to know is how after getting a template I import it to my dreamweaver site, what do i save the template as and how do incoroartae it into dreanweaver , hope u ca help, many thanks

ramandeep
03-15-2006, 11:48 AM
Hi,
Say you got your template files in a folder called "mydesign"
What you have to do is create a dreamweaver site first

Go to Site - Manage sites- new- site

New window will open asking you about the site details

Site name- whatever you like (dont keep my first webpage)

local root folder- browse and take it to your "mydesign" folder

Default images folder- mostly all templates have a images folder which stores all the images of your site ( if there is , you can browse and show it the images folder)

Press ok and your site is setup.

There are many more options you can go through the VTMs in forums index they will give you better idea.

domedia
03-15-2006, 04:11 PM
daveball, I would also suggest you look into the help files that DW has built inside for some quick and easy information on templates.

daveball
03-15-2006, 04:55 PM