PDA

View Full Version : Setting up CGI


Soad
02-24-2006, 05:04 AM
I would like to use a form on my site and my hosting provider is cgi enabled for my site but no instructions on how to use it, any help on setting up would be most appreciated

Thanks

davidj
02-24-2006, 07:35 AM
is your host PHP enabled?

this would be better and you would learn allot more

Creative Insanity
02-24-2006, 07:46 AM
Not the question dj LOL

In your ftp account you will see a folder called cgi-bin.
Just place your cgi files in there and then with your links point them to the file you want to access in the cgi-bin directory.

IE:
http://site.com/cgi-bin/file.cgi
cgi files are just perl scripts so they could be called .pl as well.

Soad
02-25-2006, 10:18 AM
Is there any really easy step by step total beginners guides or movies showing how to set up the CGI scripts because to me it seems to be doing my head in, my web hosting provider gave me instructions to download Formail from www.scriptachive.com and edit the file which I did but still not sure what to do any help most appreciated as I donít want to stat drinking at this time of the morning..(Only joking)

Thanks guys

Soad
02-25-2006, 10:20 AM
Sorry correct link

http://www.scriptarchive.com/

Creative Insanity
02-25-2006, 06:46 PM
Matt's scripts are easy to use and come with excellent docs.
I suggest you walk away from it for an hour or so (to calm down), then get a coffee and go back with a clear mind and before you touch anything read Matt's doc about it. They show what and where to edit. From mem I think there are only 2 places you need to change.. the email and the protection to add your site, from there I don't think there is anything. But first read the docs to be sure.
Then just place that in your cgi-bin directory and point your form action to that file.